Congressman Gosar to Biden: Show Me the Money!

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Representative Paul Gosar, D.D.S. (AZ-09) issued the following statement after co-leading a bicameral letter with Kansas Senator Roger Marshall to Joe Biden and Treasury Secretary Yellen, requesting expenditure reports related to the COVID-19 National Emergency Declaration, as required by 50 U.S.C. § 1641(c):


“Despite repeated requests, Joe Biden is willfully ignoring the law by failing to provide any expenditure reports to Congress related to the COVID-19 national emergency declaration.


As a Member of Congress, my constituents demand, and are entitled to, accountability and a full reporting of every dime spent on the COVID-19 emergency.  Joe Biden must stop breaking the law by continuously dragging his feet on providing these mandated reports to Congress showing exactly how much money has been spent,” concluded Congressman Gosar.




50 U.S.C. § 1641(c) states that the President must periodically report to Congress:  "When the President declares a national emergency or Congress declares war, the President shall transmit to Congress, within ninety days after the end of each six-month period after such declaration, a report on the total expenditures incurred by the United States Government during such six-month period which are directly attributable to the exercise of powers and authorities conferred by such declaration. Not later than ninety days after the termination of each such emergency or war, the President shall transmit a final report on all such expenditures."


As of April 27, 2023, the Biden administration has missed every deadline and has failed to report the expenditures of even one dime.  


Signers (44):  Senators Roger Marshall, JD Vance, Marco Rubio, & Mike Braun. Representatives Paul Gosar, Guy Reschenthaler, Mike Johnson, Byron Donalds, Lauren Boebert, Troy Nehls, Ralph Norman, Tom Tiffany, Mary Miller, Harriet Hageman, Marjorie Taylor Greene, Andy Ogles, Warren Davidson, Bob Good, Debbie Lesko, Anna Paulina Luna, Matt Rosendale, Eli Crane, Randy Weber, Chip Roy, Andy Biggs, Lance Gooden, Rich McCormick, William Timmons, Jeff Duncan, Chuck Edwards, John Duarte, Dan Bishop, Garrett Graves, Barry Moore, Richard Hudson, Josh Brecheen, Diana Harshbarger, Tim Burchett, Ronny Jackson, Brian Babin, Jim Baird, Keith Self, Ben Cline, Cory Mills


Supporters (12):  FreedomWorks, Americans for Limited Government, Heritage Action, Tea Party Patriots, Advancing American Freedom, Competitive Enterprise Institute, Leadership Institute, Less Government, CatholicVote, Association of Mature American Citizens, Independent Women’s Voice, American Principles Project


A copy of the letter can be found here.

Stay Connected

Use the form below to sign up for my newsletter and get the latest news and updates directly to your inbox.