75 Members Sign onto Resolution of No Confidence in Attorney General Holder

f t # e
Washington, DC, December 15, 2011 | comments

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: December 13, 2011

 CONTACT:  Apryl Marie Fogel, aprylmarie.fogel@mail.house.gov

75 Members Sign onto Resolution of No Confidence in Attorney General Holder

Today, Congressman Paul Gosar, DDS (AZ-01) announced that in just 5 days, 74 colleagues in the US House of Representatives have joined him to co-sponsor H.Res. 490 a Resolution of No Confidence in Attorney General Eric Holder.

Congressman Gosar said tonight, "Attorney General Holder and senior officials under his command have been evasive, aloof and have outright lied to Members of Congress, the media and both the American and Mexican people. This is just unacceptable and is a dereliction of duties. 

“The Department of Justice serves as the top law enforcement agency for our nation and through this operation, the Attorney General, himself has opened the Department of Justice and our nation up to questions about the facilitation of crimes both in the United States and in Mexico.  The position of Attorney General and those that hold it, need our utmost confidence.  Attorney General Holder has continually acted without integrity with respect to Operation Fast and Furious, putting the lives and the safety of countless Americans and Mexicans at risk.

“This resolution expresses the fact that we have no confidence in his abilities and seek for him to immediately return the office of which he holds back to one of trust to the American people."  

Congressman Gosar hopes to accomplish two goals with this resolution: First, the reproval by Congress of an executive official, is a significant statement.   Cabinet positions, including the Attorney General, are appointed with the consent of half of Congress, the Senate.   Congress is more than entitled to express its approbation, disapproval or censure.   This resolution does that for the House. 

The second goal is public awareness.   By filing this resolution, we are anticipating a debate on the House floor and a floor vote.   This will bring needed inquiry, exposure and transparency to the issue itself.  

Current Cosponsors: Trent Franks (AZ), Allen West (FL), Jeff Duncan (SC) Joe Wilson (SC), Connie Mack (FL), Charles Boustany (LA), Paul Broun (GA), Billy Long (MO), Lynn Jenkins (KS), Louie Gohmert (TX), Gus Bilirakis (FL),  Joe Walsh (IL), Kenny Marchant (TX), Trey Gowdy (SC), Michael Grimm (NY), Tom Graves (GA), Blake Farenthold (TX), Steve Fincher (TN), Renee Ellmers (NC), Todd Akin (MO), Jeff Landry (LA), Andy Harris (MD), Dan Burton (IN), Tom Cole (OK), Alan Nunnelee (MS), Pat Tiberi (OH), Francisco “Quico” Canseco (TX), Ralph Hall (TX), Vicky Hartzler (MO), Doug Lamborn (CO), Bobby Schilling (IL), John Fleming (LA), Steve Pearce (NM), Austin Scott (GA), Bill Johnson (OH), Bill Posey (FL), Walter Jones (NC), Steve King (IA), David Schweikert (AZ), Mo Brooks (AL), Phil Roe (TN), Cynthia Lummis (WY), Bill Flores (TX), Mick Mulvaney (SC), Marlin Stutzman (IN), Phil Gingrey (GA), Scott Dejarilais (TN) Kristi Noem (SD), Bob Turner (NY), Mike Amodei (NV), Rick Crawford (AR), Dan Benishek (MI), Joe Barton (TX), John Carter (TX), Mike Pomeo (KS), Tom Rokita (IN), Jim Sensenbrenner (WI), Thaddeus McCotter (MI), Scott Tipton (CO), Diane Black (TN), Steve Palazzo (MS), Lynn Westmoreland (GA), Patrick McHenry (NC), Ted Poe (TX), Randy Hultgren (IL), Pete Sessions (TX), John Mica (FL), Ann Marie Buerkle (NY), Tim Huelskamp (KS), Dennis Ross (FL),  Mike Coffman (CO), Denny Rehberg (MT), and Ben Quayle (AZ)


f t # e

Stay Connected

Use the form below to sign up for my newsletter and get the latest news and updates directly to your inbox.