

November 27, 2017

Congressman Tom Emmer 315 Cannon House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Via electronic delivery

Dear Congressman Emmer,

As elected leaders of the Minnesota Legislature, we are writing in strong support of H.R. 3905. This legislation supports jobs, economic development and industry in Northeast Minnesota, and will reverse an onerous, overreaching and politically-motivated decision by the Obama Administration that withdrew nearly 240,000 acres of federal lands and minerals from potential development. H.R. 3905 will halt these last-minute land withdrawals, reinstate leases affected by that decision including the Twin Metals' lease, and require congressional approval for any future withdrawal actions.

The decision by the Obama Administration last January put jobs and nearly \$2.5 billion of our state's economy at risk. Furthermore, it risked the depression of the precious metals, technology, infrastructure and manufacturing industries in our state, and the economic well-being of Northeast Minnesota—a region where mining has been an economic anchor since the late nineteenth century. And that's not to mention the estimated four billion ton deposit of copper, nickel, and other strategic minerals located within the Duluth Complex which could generate as much as \$3 billion in royalty revenues for the state's Permanent School Trust Fund—resources that would support education for nearly 900,000 K-12 students across the state.

H.R. 3905 also reaffirms our shared commitment to the protection of our environment and support of a thorough and proper environmental review process for the mineral leases, as well as upholds our state's commitment to restricting mineral development in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness and Mine Protection Area.

The expansion of the precious metals mining industry offers generations of Minnesotans thousands of good-paying jobs, billions of dollars in investment in industry, and billions of dollars in revenue for Minnesota schools. Moreover, it provides an incredible opportunity to further establish our nation's economic and energy independence from foreign nations. The decision to remove vast amounts of federal land from potential development and blocking the Twin Metals' federal mineral lease renewal was short-sighted and damaging. H.R. 3905 has our

bipartisan support, and it is our sincere hope that it will become law for the well-being of our state and its citizens.

Sincerely,

Rep. Kurt Daudt Speaker of the House

Rep. Joyce Peppin Majority Leader Leader

Rep. Dan Fabian

**Environment Committee Chair** 

House District 1A

Sen. Bill Ingebrigtesen

**Environment Committee Chair** 

Senate District 8

Rep. Pat Garofalo

Jobs and Energy Committee Chair

House District 58B

Sen. Jerry Newton

Senate District 37

Legislative School Trust Commission

July Sandstade

Rep. Julie Sandstede

House District 6A

Legislative School Trust Commission

Paul Tohn

Sen. Paul Gazelka Majority Leader

Sen. Tom Bakk

Senate District 3

Rep. Chris Swedzinski

Mining and Outdoor Recreation Chair

House District 16A

Sen. David Tomassoni

**Environment Committee Ranking Member** 

ters

Senate District 6

Rep. Rob Ecklund

**Assistant Minority Leader** 

House District 3A

Rep. Sandy Layman

House District 5B

Legislative School Trust Commission

Rep. Dale Lueck

House District 10B

Legislative School Trust Commission

Sen. John Hoffman
Senate District 36
Legislative School Trust Commission

Rep. Brian Daniels House District 24B

Rep. Brian Johnson House District 32A

Rep. Rod Hamilton House District 22B

Rep. Sondra Erickson House District 15A

Rep. Bob Gunther House District

Rep. Steve Drazkowski House District 21B Sen. Justin Eichorn
Senate District 5
Legislative School Trust Commission

Rep. Jim Nash House District 47A

Rep. Jason Rarick House Distict 11B

Rep. Mary Franson House District 8B

Rep. Jon Koznick House District 58A

Rep. Paul Torkelson House District 16B

Rep. Tony Albright House District 55B Bol Delliner

Rep. Bob Dettmer House District 39A

Rep. Josh Heintzeman House District 10A

Lathy Lohme

Rep. Kathy Lohmer House District 39B

Rep. Linda Runbeck House District 38A

Rep. Bob Loonan House District 55A

Rep. Glenn Gruenhagen House District 18B

Rep John Poston House District 9A

Rep. Cal Bahr House District 31B

## Ciron Pugh

Rep. Cindy Pugh House District 33B

Rep. Roz Peterson House District 56B

Rep. Barb Haley House District 21A

Rep. Deb Kiel House District 1B

Rep. Matt Dean
House District 38B

Rep. Dean Urdahl House District 18A

Rep. Tama Theis House District 14A

Rep. Steve Green House District 2B Rep. Matt/Bliss House District

Rep. Mike Sundin House District 11A

Rep. Dave Baker House District 17B

Sen. Mary Kiffmeyer Senate District 30

Sen. Jerry Relph Senate District 14 Rep. Tim Miller House District 17A

Rep. Mary Kunesh-Podein

House District 41B

Legislative School Trust Commission

Sen. Mark Johnson Senate District 1

Sen. Paul Utke 2 Senate District